A New Smocked Dress

Today’s post is to show off my mom’s handiwork. Every year my mom will make my daughter dresses and most of them are smocked. She (my mom, I mean) learnt to smock specially for my daughter i.e. when she knew that I was pregnant with a girl. Ain’t my daughter spoilt by her grandma. 😉

This is the latest addition to the collection of smocked dress made by my mom for my daughter:

Smocked dress handmade from scratch by mom

Smocked dress handmade from scratch by mom

The collar is trimmed by tatted edging that I made (and which I wrote about in an earlier post).  The pleat at the skirt is supposed to be trimmed all round with the same edging as well but I just didn’t have time (or patience) to tat such a long edging (even if its just a simple pattern of rings and chains).

I think my mom made this dress to be worn during Chinese New Year this year (which will be in late February). As I’m writing this post, my mom is working on yet another smocked dress. This time, it’s meant for my daughter’s birthday in March.

I asked my mom why she never made me any dress when I was little. Her answer was “How can I sew anything when you sit on the cloth every time I try to cut it?” Well, what else can I say after that. I’m just glad that my daughter gets to enjoy all the lovely dresses that her grandma put such effort in making.

About tattedtale

I'm a Malaysian living in Kuala Lumpur. I love to travel, read, tat and recently, make wire and beaded accessories.
This entry was posted in Mom's Handicraft, Smocking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A New Smocked Dress

  1. notewords says:

    What a charming dress! I would have liked a closer look at the collar…

Leave a comment