A New Smocked Dress

Today’s post is to show off my mom’s handiwork. Every year my mom will make my daughter dresses and most of them are smocked. She (my mom, I mean) learnt to smock specially for my daughter i.e. when she knew that I was pregnant with a girl. Ain’t my daughter spoilt by her grandma. ūüėČ

This is the latest addition to the collection of smocked dress made by my mom for my daughter:

Smocked dress handmade from scratch by mom

Smocked dress handmade from scratch by mom

The collar is trimmed by tatted edging that I made (and which I wrote about in an¬†earlier post). ¬†The pleat at the skirt is supposed to be trimmed all round with the same edging as well but I just didn’t have time (or patience) to tat such a long edging (even if its just a simple pattern of rings and chains).

I think my mom made this dress to be worn during Chinese New Year this year (which will be in late February).¬†As I’m writing this post, my mom is working on yet another smocked dress. This time, it’s meant for my daughter’s birthday in March.

I asked my mom why she never made me any dress when I was little. Her answer was “How can I sew anything when you sit on the cloth every time I try to cut it?” Well, what else can I say after that. I’m just glad that my daughter gets to enjoy all the lovely dresses that her grandma put such effort in making.

About tattedtale

I'm a Malaysian living in Kuala Lumpur. I love to travel, read, tat and recently, make wire and beaded accessories.
This entry was posted in Mom's Handicraft, Smocking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Smocked Dress

  1. notewords says:

    What a charming dress! I would have liked a closer look at the collar…

Leave a Reply

